Sign In


Our Credentials — expertise you can count on

Our group is composed of more than 30 full-time professionals. Our professionals’ technical strengths are evidenced below by numerous prestigious credentials. In addition, we have the ability to supplement our skill set, industry experience, and geographic resources with the audit, tax, and consulting staff of Plante & Moran. A link to our group’s partners with their associated credentials is included in the list below.

ABV (Accreditation in Business Valuation)

This credential is awarded to AICPA members with a CPA Business Valuation License, one day exam, and involvement in 10 business valuation engagements.
Granted by: American Institute Certified Public Accountants

AIC (Associate in Claims)

Developed by the Insurance Institute of America with support from the National Association of Independent Insurance Adjusters, the Associate in Claims (AIC) is a nationally recognized educational program consisting of four courses and national exams that cover the handling of claims. The AIC program deals with determination of coverage, liability, and damages in workers compensation, property and liability claims, human relations, and bad faith issues.
Granted by: American Institute for CPCU and Insurance Institute of America

ARM (Associate in Risk Management)

The Associate in Risk Management (ARM) designation program teaches the in-depth knowledge needed to assess and respond to the numerous hazard risks your company faces.
Granted by: American Institute for CPCU and Insurance Institute of America

ASA (Accredited Senior Appraiser)

The American Society of Appraisers requirements include a college degree, five years appraisal experience, completion of four courses, exam and peer review reports.
Granted by: American Society of Appraisers

CFA (Chartered Financial Analyst)

The curriculum develops and reinforces a fundamental knowledge of investment principles. The three levels of examination verify a candidate’s ability to apply these principles across all areas of the investment decision-making process. The program’s professional conduct requirements demand that both CFA candidates and charter holders adhere to the highest standards of ethical responsibility.
Granted by: Chartered Financial Analyst Institute

CFE (Certified Fraud Examiner)

The CFE designation is awarded by the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners to select professionals responsible for detecting, deterring, and investigating fraud. Each CFE must meet the rigorous criteria of the Association's certification program including character, experience, and education requirements.
Granted by: Association Certified Fraud Examiners

CFF  (Certified in Financial Forensics)

The CFF credential is granted exclusively to CPAs who demonstrate considerable expertise in forensic accounting through their knowledge, skills, and experience. The CFF encompasses fundamental and specialized forensic accounting skills that CPA practitioners apply in a variety of service areas, including: bankruptcy, insolvency and reorganization; computer forensic analysis; economic damages calculations; family law; fraud prevention, detection and response; financial statement misrepresentation; and valuations.
Granted by: American Institute Certified Public Accountants

CFS (Certified Fraud Specialist)

The Association of Certified Fraud Specialists (ACFS) accepts petitions for certification from its members. That means to seek certification, an interested individual must first meet the criteria to qualify for membership. The ACFS’ Board of Regents has designated three ways in which a member may obtain certification. To obtain certification, you must successfully complete one 1) Examination; 2) ACFS Academy; or 3) Grandfather provision.
Granted by: Association of Certified Fraud Specialists

CIA (Certified Internal Auditor)

The Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®) designation is the only globally accepted certification for internal auditors and remains the standard by which individuals demonstrate their competency and professionalism in the internal auditing field.
Granted by: Institute of Internal Auditors

CISA (Certified Information Systems Auditor)

Since 1978, the CISA certification program has been a globally accepted achievement for information system audits, controls, and security professionals.
Granted by: ISACA

CMA (Certified Management Accountant)

Achieving the CMA credential demonstrates mastery of financial planning, analysis, control, decision support, and professional ethics.
Granted by: Institute of Management Accountants

CPA (Certified Public Accountant)

A CPA is awarded after completion of a program of study in accounting at a college/university, passing the computerized Uniform CPA Examination, and in Michigan have completed one year of qualifying experience.
Granted by: American Institute of Certified Public Accountants

CVA (Certified Valuation Analyst)

Through training and rigorous testing, CVAs demonstrate they are qualified to provide capable and professionally executed valuation services. Users of valuation services benefit by having greater confidence that the service they receive is professional in quality, adheres to industry standards of practice, and meets a level of expertise the Association deems credible and worthy of one of its certified members.
Granted by: National Association of Certified Valuation Analysts

JD (Juris Doctor)

Juris Doctor is a first-professional law degree typically awarded by an accredited law school recognized by the American Bar Association in the United States to a student who has successfully completed three years of study in law.
Related organization: American Bar Association