Headshot of GianFranco DelBene

I enjoy cooking, brewing beer, and making wine. I think I’m slowly preparing for my second career when I’ll own a restaurant that specializes in Italian food, wine, beer. 

GianFranco DelBene
Partner, CPA


I specialize in providing tax and consulting services to retail automotive dealerships, professional service firms, and other service businesses, such as sales and marketing companies. Many of my clients are family-owned, owner-managed, and private equity-owned businesses.   

While a big part of my job is offering tax strategies to my clients, my favorite days at work are those when I can provide them with useful, real-world business planning advice. I’m impressed by the entrepreneurial drive of my clients, and I seize any opportunity to connect with them when those ideas arise. I’ve had many of my clients since I graduated from college, and I always feel we’re on the same team. When giving input, I first ask, “Would I take my own advice if I owned the business or if this was my family?” I’ll never take for granted the opportunity to be a collaborator with my clients.

I also enjoy collaborating with colleagues as they continue to grow in their careers at Plante Moran. I’ve had the opportunity to work with some of the greatest business mentors and, more importantly, role models for what a dad who moonlights as a CPA should look like. It’s rewarding when I get the chance to pay forward those lessons I’ve learned along the way.

Because of my expertise, I’ve frequently spoken at auto dealership conferences on topics such as auto dealership tax and business planning matters. I received my B.B.A. in accounting from the University of Michigan-Dearborn. I’m a member of the AICPA and the Michigan Association of CPAs. Also, I’m the chair of the board for the Osborn High School NAF Pathway Program.

Outside of work, I enjoy spending time with my wife, Carrie, our two kids, Tommaso and Gemma, our dog, Carl, and our large extended family and friends. Our favorite activity is pool parties with friends and family at our house. We also love to travel.