Skip to Content
Image of an elderly man in a wheelchair being pushed by a younger woman, both petting a golden retriever; SNF presumption of skilled coverage PDPM

PDPM vs. PPS: Understanding the presumption of skilled coverage

September 17, 2018 / 1 min read

The reasons for skilling a patient haven’t changed under CMS’ new Patient-Driven Payment Model (PDPM), and it’s crucial for your SNF to understand PDPM vs. PPS and the presumption of skilled coverage.

CMS' new Patient-Driven Payment Model (PDPM) doesn’t change Medicare’s basic requirements for skilling a resident. However, due to the change in resident care classifications, the rule specifies the new PDPM categories that will qualify for the presumption of skilled coverage. The new model focuses less on the number of therapy minutes and more on residents’ clinical characteristics.

Effective Oct. 1, 2019, under PDPM, the presumption of skilled coverage concept will continue but will be modified for various PDPM classifications. Beneficiaries who are “correctly assigned one of the designated case-mix classifiers on the initial 5-day, Medicare-required assessment are automatically classified as meeting the SNF level of care definition up to and including the assessment reference date on the 5-day Medicare required assessment” (CMS-1696-F, Part V, paragraph G).

The new PDPM model focuses less on the number of therapy minutes and more on residents’ clinical characteristics.

Residents who aren’t automatically eligible will remain subject to the existing level of care determination process. (42 CFR Part 409, Subpart D.)

The presence of any of the following classifiers will qualify a resident for the administrative presumption that the SNF level of care requirements have been met under PDPM:

To compare how presumption of skilled coverage is changing under the new model, the prospective payment system (PPS) includes an administrative presumption based on a beneficiary’s initial classification in the Resource Utilization Grouper (RUG-IV) system to assist in making level of care determinations. Under PPS, if a resident’s initial classification is in one of the upper 52 RUGS of the 66-group RUG-IV system, then the resident is deemed to have met the level of care requirements.

While PDPM will create plenty of change for providers, it was developed with an important goal shared by SNFs: to stay focused on the fundamental clinical reasons to skill a patient.

As always, feel free to contact a Plante Moran healthcare industry specialist if you have any questions.

Related Thinking

Senior mother looking at a clipboard with adult son
September 10, 2018

ICD-10 expertise: Critical for new PDPM reimbursement model

Article 2 min read
A nurse checking on an elderly woman.
July 31, 2018

CMS's new Patient-Driven Payment Model (PDPM): Proactive planning steps for SNFs

Article 3 min read
Image of elderly man in hospital bed with a male doctor sitting on the edge smiling down at him; SNF interrupted stay PDPM.
September 17, 2018

PDPM: New interrupted stay policy will impact MDS assessment schedule

Article 3 min read